Friday, August 31, 2007

Malaysia celebrates 50 years of nationhood!

Today - August 31st, 2007 is THE DAY,
my beloved country MALAYSIA
celebrates 50 glorious years of Independence (Merdeka)!

Exactly 50 years ago, on August 31st, 1957 our country then known as The Federation of Malaya was born, having won independence from Britain! Our first Prime Minister was Tunku Abdul Rahman, lovingly known as Bapa (Father) Malaysia, second was Tun Abdul Razak from September 22, 1970, followed by Datuk Hussein Onn in 1976! On July 17, 1981, Tun Datuk Seri Dr Mahathir Mohamad became the fourth Premier and led our nation for more than 22 years, steering us towards economic prosperity, modernisation and world recognition . Our current Prime Minister is Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi who took over premiership on October 31, 2003.


May the Almighty God continue to guide the leaders and people of our beloved nation to strive for peace, national unity, justice and religious freedom for all irrespective of race, color or creed!

Our King, Tuanku Mizan Zainal Abidin and Queen, Tuanku Nur Zahirah waving the Jalur Gemilang during the Merdeka Day Parade at Dataran Merdeka. Looking on are Britain's Prince Andrew and Minister of Housing & Local Government Datuk Seri Ong Ka Ting The MalaysiaKu Gemilang grand parade passing in front of the Sultan Abdul Samad building, as the King and Prime Minister in attendance, takes the salute from marchers

No comments:

Post a Comment

Custom Search